Contact Us

SWQ Open Touch

2016 Elite 8 Teams

The Qld based teams to contest the 2016 Elite 8s in Coffs Harbour next March have just been announced and SWQ Touch would like to congratulate the following Swans players on their selection: 

  • Queensland Chiefs Men – Brayden Leisemann, Sam Carmody and Jake Notley
  • Queensland Stingrays Women – Clare Giarola, Georgina Rackemann, Ashleigh Kearney and Kiara Taylor

SWQ Men’s T League Team – 2015 NTL

Congratulations to the following players who have been selected to play for our Men’s T League team at this year’s NTL:

     (Listed in no particular order)

  • Zac Alexander; Kevin Platz; Tom Schatz; Hayden Bartlett
  • Sam Carmody; James Sharp; Dan O’Brien; Kyle Farrell
  • Jake Hooper; Jacob McCarroll; Bryce Rackemann; Tyler
  • Bickhoff; Aaron Rosin; Brendan Strahan; Brendan Taylor
  • Shadows
  • Cody Steel; Jye O’Keefe; Scott Martin
  • Shane Whitehouse; Jack Pope

SWQ Men’s T League Information – 2015 NTL

The SWQ Men’s T League team for this year’s NTL will be finalised at the training run that is being held at Kearney’s Spring, Toowoomba, this Sunday (18th) – commencing at 10am sharp.

Please note that there were some players who had legitimate reasons for not attending the muster on 14 Dec but they MUST attend on Sunday to be considered for selection. The team will not be announced on Sunday but the details will be posted on this website next Monday (19th).

Local Sporting Champions Program

The Local Sporting Champions Program is an Australian Government initiative designed to provide financial assistance for young people (aged 12-18 years) towards the cost of travel, accommodation, uniforms or equipment when competing, coaching or officiating at an official national sporting organisation (NSO) endorsed state, national or international sporting championships or a School Sport Australia state or national championships. NB. Applications can only be made by individuals – not teams.

For more information, please click on the following link Local Sporting Champions Program.

SWQ Musters – 2015 NTL

SWQ Touch Association will be holding musters for the following divisions for next year’s NTL:

  • Men’s T League
  • Toowoomba Touch Complex, Kearney’s Spring, Toowoomba
  • Sunday 14/12/14 – commencing at 10am
  • Coach: Terry McSweeney
  • Men’s 40s / 45s
  • Toowoomba Touch Complex, Kearney’s Spring, Toowoomba
  • Sunday 7/12/14 – commencing at 10am
  • Coach: Kev Flett

A decision will be made within the next couple of days regarding the muster details for the following divisions:

  • Women’s T League
  • Women’s 35s / 40s
  • Open Mixed

NB. Musters WILL NOT be held for any of the other divisions due to insufficient player registrations. Players who registered for those divisions are now entitled to nominate for the Player Pool. Information about that process will be available on the TFA website in the next few weeks or so.

Any questions, please contact Michael McSweeney on 0417 419 837 or by email at [email protected].

National Youth Squads (18s & 20s)

The Australian Youth squads for the 2015 Youth Trans Tasman Series have been officially announced by TFA and it is fantastic to see a number of players from our region selected. They are:  

  • Girls 18s              
  • Shenae Ciesiolka (Toowoomba), Dominique du Toit (Toowoomba), Laura Gleeson (Dalby & Toowoomba), Georgina Rackemann (Chinchilla & Toowoomba)
  • Girls 20s             
  • Ashleigh Kearney (Toowoomba)
  • Boys 20s             
  • Sam Carmody (Toowoomba)

We wish all of these players the best of luck in their endeavours to make the final teams to take on New Zealand in Cronulla in mid-January 2015.

For full details on the composition of the squads, please click on the link below:    

Australian Youth Squads